The Executive Branch: The President and the Cabinet

US Government, American Government

US Government

The U.S. Constitution stipulated a government that would include “a separation of powers.” This mandate, often referred to as a system of “checks and balances,” forms the basis of the U.S. government. Although the executive, legislative and judicial branches share power, they each have specific purposes and unique duties. This U.S. Government Web Guide explores the history and contemporary responsibility of each branch of the American government, providing information about the role of the President and the cabinet, the House of Representatives and the Senate, and the Supreme Court.

The Executive Branch: The President and the Cabinet

The U.S. executive branch is made up of two essential components: the president and the Cabinet he or she selects to represent each of the 15 major departments of U.S. government. The Cabinet is an intimate group that meets at least once a week to discuss the most essential aspects of U.S. policy and government with the president. Members of the executive branch function not only as essential policy makers, but also as direct representations of the needs and wants of the American electorate. To learn about the development of the executive branch and the role of the president and Cabinet today, see findingDulcinea’s Web Guide to The U.S. President and the Cabinet.

The Legislative Branch: Congress

The U.S. Congress is the legislative branch of the federal government, responsible for making laws. ... read more »

The Judicial Branch: the Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is the highest form of judicial authority in the United States. Only nine ... read more »

Most Recent Guides