Boston College Wins NCAA Hockey Championship

April 14, 2008 12:20 PM
by findingDulcinea Staff
Boston College beat Notre Dame 4-1 to win the 3rd national championship in school history.

30-Second Summary

After losing the championship game two years in a row, Boston College wouldn’t be denied for a third time.

Hobey Baker finalist Nathan Gerbe scored two goals and two assists to lead the Eagles. With an incredible eight points in two games, Gerbe was named Most Outstanding Player of the Frozen Four.

The game’s turning point occurred 4:46 into the third period. Trailing 3-1, Notre Dame appeared to cut the deficit to one, but a video replay review controversially ruled that Notre Dame’s Kyle Lawson had kicked the puck into the net. Just 35 seconds later, BC’s Ben Smith scored to make it 4-1 and effectively end Notre Dame’s chances of a comeback.

The win is the latest chapter in an impressive era for BC hockey. In the past 11 years, the Eagles have made eight Frozen Fours, playing in six championship games and winning two.

The man behind the team’s success is coach Jerry York, who took over a struggling BC program in 1994 and quickly built it into a perennial title contender. This was the third national championship for the NCAA’s second all-time winningest hockey coach.

For Notre Dame, it was a disappointing end to a Cinderella run that saw the school make the Frozen Four for the first time in its history.

Headline Link: Boston College beats Notre Dame

Video: Game highlights

Background: Road to the final

Opinion & Analysis: BC’s heroes and “no goal” controversy

Key Players: Jerry York and Jeff Jackson

Historical Context: The BC Era


Most Recent Beyond The Headlines